Earth Hour City Challenge - India

OPCC 2017-2018

The 11 participating cities this year included Bangalore, Coimbatore, Hyderabad, Indore, Kochi, Panaji, Patna, Pune, Rajkot, Surat and Vadodara.

The three OPCC India finalists for 2017 were Panaji, Pune and Rajkot. These three cities also participated in the OPCC's public campaign -"We Love Cities”. Rajkot was awarded the national winner from India while, the Swedish City of Uppsala was named global winner of WWF’s 2018 One Planet City Challenge. 

*Since 2016, the challenge became a biennial initiative and hence, 2016-2017 was an interim preparatory year for the subsequent edition of the challenge.

EHCC 2015-2016

The 11 participating cities in this year included Pune, Coimbatore, Rajkot, Gwalior, Panaji, Shimla, Cochin, Kota, Dehradun, Bhopal and Surat. The three EHCC India 2016 finalists were Coimbatore, Pune and Rajkot. Rajkot won the National Earth Hour Capital title and Paris emerged as the Global Earth Hour Capital 2016 title. 

Know more about EHCC 2015-2016 here.

EHCC 2014-2015

India’s participation for EHCC 2015 has spanned across 13 cities. These include Ahmedabad, Shimla, Pune, Kota, Dehradun, Cochin, Thane, Gandhinagar, Rajkot, Gwalior, Coimbatore, Panaji and Nashik. Thane was declared as the National Earth Hour Capital from India and Seoul, South Korea won the Global Earth Hour Capital 2015.

Know more about EHCC 2014-2015 here.

EHCC 2013-2014

EHCC 2014 in India expanded to 11 cities - Delhi, Coimbatore, Cochin, Bhubaneswar, Hyderabad, Nagpur, Ahmedabad, Goa, Shimla, Pune and Kota. Hyderabad, Cochin and Coimbatore made it to the finals. And, Coimbatore was declared as the National Earth Hour Capital. Cape Town, South Africa was awarded the 2014 Global Earth Hour Capital title.

EHCC 2012-2013

India became a part of EHCC in 2012, with participation from six different cities i.e. Delhi, Hyderabad, Cochin, Coimbatore, Jaipur and Bhubaneswar. Delhi bagged the Earth Hour National Capital for 2013 and was also among the final six global cities. Vancouver, Canada was the Global Earth Hour Capital for that year.

Donate to WWF

Your support will help us build a future where humans live in harmony with nature.